2001 Maniacs (2005)


2001 Maniacs is a remake of the classic Herschell Gordon Lewis film, Two Thousand Maniacs!, and while I haven’t see that, I do know how Herschell Gordon Lewis’ movies are. He was the godfather of Gore. What does that mean you ask? It means he literary made gore into what we know it as now. Blood, Guts, and more Guts.

How does a remake of a film that was only good for it’s gore hold up these days? Well, it’s pretty much only good for it’s gore, laughs, and breasts. Yes, lots and lots of breasts, from that hot asian Dom, to the two southern lesbo cousins, too that guy trying to fuck the sheep. This movie has alot of it.

The plot revolves around a handful of students off on spring break taking a detour to Pleasant Valley , where the locals are reenacting  a civil war time, or are they? There is of course more to the plot then that, but it is very very loose, alot of weirdness is thrown at you and only explained in the last couple minutes, but that doesn’t matter, it’s not why your watching. Your watching to see blood. guts and titties. I know you are, cause I was.

Speaking of gore, they have quite a few fun scenes, so why I don’t want to give too much of the deaths away, I will say, they are really well done. Take for example the only one I will tell you about, some guy has just witnessed the locals commit murder, so what do they do to him? Why bend him over and ram a pull through his ass out his mouth cannibal holocaust style. Yummah.

I don’t really have much more I can say about this one, Robert Englund plays  the mayor of PP, and does amazing in his role, it’s quite enjoyable to watch an actor really having fun with a role. There’s a cameo by Eli Roth, who also was one of the producers from the movie. And while I can’t say for sure, because it’s been a while, but I think he might be playing the same character  as his cameo in Cabin Fever.

Score – 73%
Gore –  7/10

