Bug (2006)

                                            

Bug has been on my radar for quite some time. I had heard it was about hearing Bugs in your skin, and the first thing that went through my mind was “Great, a horror movie about meth.” In some ways I was right, not meth, but drugs.

Bug is the story of Agnes, a lonely waitress living in a run down motel, afraid of her abusive ex-husband. Agnes does some drugs, meets Peter, who happens to have paranoid schizophrenia.

The movie follows them, as they give into their delusions, Peter’s cause he’s schizo, and Agnes giving into the Peter’s delusion via drug use. Agnes willingly gives in, because Peter is the only person she has felt close to since her husband.

I’m not going to give much of this one away. It’s really one of those movies that is better to watch, and then talk about, then to listen to some one talk about. It was directed by William Friedkin, the director of The Exorcist, so I had my hopes up, that and the praise the case had all over it. Overall I didn’t find it as chilling  and disturbing as everyone said it would be, I just found it very interesting.

Score – 77%
Gore – 3/10

Leave a Reply

